I don’t want to give up my PS4 yet

Rumours have been circulating around today that Sony is working on an incremental piece of hardware that replaces your PS4. Well, I’m not ready to drop my PS4 yet.

A lot of the comments I have seen on various forums have already been in favour of Sony dropping the PS4 for more powerful hardware. Then there are the people in favour of Microsoft going incremental with the Xbox brand, releasing slightly more powerful versions every year or so to keep up, like a smartphone. Everyone could very well be right and I’m a complete goof, but I don’t think that’s the way to go. I got my PS4 with the intention of it lasting several years. I knew when I bought it that the hardware inside was totally inferior to what is inside a mid to high-end PC. The intention of me getting my PS4 wasn’t for a top-of-the-line machine, it was for the wildly talented people making games for only PlayStation consoles. Even after upgrading my PC a few years ago, I still don’t feel like I will have to upgrade any further for another year or two. I run most games perfectly fine at medium to high settings at 45-60fps, depending on the title.

There are also a ton of complaints about how the last console generation was too long, I also don’t feel that way. It made me feel like I got the most out of my money, having my Xbox 360 for nearly 6 years. Sure, the games didn’t run at 1080p and 60fps, but if I wanted them to, I could go out and buy better hardware for my PC and play them there. Console and PC gaming are different beasts, in my opinion. I have only have my PS4 for a little over a year, and now there’s already talk of replacing it? No thanks, champs. I would feel better about upgrading maybe in another two or three years, at least.

For Xbox 360, there were four new Halo titles, Halo 3, Halo 3: ODST, Halo: Reach, and Halo 4. The amount for Xbox One? Just one, Halo 5: Guardians. Now there are rumblings of a new Xbox One upgrade coming relatively soon? That sounds kind of gross to me, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

 

*Love&Respect

 

2 comments

  1. Do you think that the next generation of consoles will be similar to past releases? Such as the Xbox 360 and PS3, and the Xbox One and PS4. I’ve been thinking about how much the market is changing right now and how rapidly, and I’m wondering if we will see another set of consoles. The PC market is enormous and isn’t tied to any one machine, and the mobile scene is the same. It’s not too crazy to think that maybe the console era is dying and on it’s way out, because we’ll be consuming our experiences differently.

    Like

    1. I think the sale numbers of PS4 pretty much guarantee that we’ll get another console from Sony, not too sure about Microsoft though. I’m hoping that console manufacturers don’t go into more of a PC kind of setup, as I think it helps them to make consoles more accessible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

