Craving that (FFXII)HD

Back in 2006, the PS2 was hit with it’s final mainline Final Fantasy game. I owned the game and enjoyed it, but never ended up finishing it. Now, nearly a decade after release, I would absolutely love to give Final Fantasy XII another chance.

Now, I suppose this blog post could end right here if I still owned the game. My PlayStation 2 is still in working condition, and I guess I could just re-buy the game via eBay or Amazon. But having seen what Square Enix did (relatively) recently for Final Fantasy X and X-2 (re-releasing them in 1080p for PS3 and PS4) just makes me wish they would jump on over to Final Fantasy XII as well. I would jump at the chance to buy the game and show my support for a game I remember fondly. Every time I look at old screenshots and gameplay footage, it makes me appreciate the game even more. I may not have finished the game back in the day, but I would love to be given to chance to now.

No matter how many times I bring this topic up to my girlfriend, she is always struck with a jolt of jolliness. A light in her eyes are she remembers all the time she gladly sunk into the game on PS2. That was the regular version too, so when I told her about a supposedly better version of the game she is so fond of, this just bolsters her hope that they re-release the game in a way she can support. Even if I get to play the game again and never fully complete it, just like last time, I know she (and many others) would.

Don’t let hope die, Square. Make some dreams come true.

 

*Love&Respect

 

(Here’s hoping that Square is going to announce it at the Final Fantasy XV event on March 30th.)

Leave a Reply

